Jump the Clock

A collection by renowned poet and scholar Erica Hunt, spanning from the 1980s to the present.




New and Selected Poems

Additional information

Weight .76 lbs

Erica Hunt writes at the intersection of poetry and emancipatory politics—racial and gender justice, feminist ethics, and participatory democracy—showing us that altering our reading strategies frames our experiences. Ultimately, she finds that words matter, savoring the small ones: articles, pronouns, collective, plural and singular. This collection brings together out of print works and journals of the same period, to speak across “crumpled” time, the past seen from then to now.

Jump the Clock: New and Selected Poems, an invaluable gathering of pioneering poet, theorist, teacher, and activist Erica Hunt’s poetic oeuvre, is a treasure of lyric and analytic revelations and delights. A key figure in the Language Poetry movement, a pacesetter in late 20th and 21st century women’s writing, and a lodestar for Black innovative writers, Hunt in this collection expands poetry’s range and power and shows how to make the illegible legible. Or as she incomparably reminds us, ‘What we do not dream we cannot manufacture.'”
-John Keene
Show More +Show Less -
ISBN: 9781643620244
Paperback, 206 pages, 6 x 9 in
Publication Date: November 10, 2020

This collection of Erica Hunt’s poetry might just save you. Including out of print works and others, this volume is one of inspiration, resistance and possibility.

Show More +Show Less -

Erica Hunt is a poet, and essayist, author of Local History and Arcade, Piece Logic, Time Flies Right Before the Eyes and A Day and Its Approximates. Her poems and …

More about Erica Hunt