HULL

Poetry

$16.95

Category:

Additional information

Weight 0.4 lbs

In this debut collection by African American poet Xandria Phillips, HULL explores emotional impacts of colonialism and racism on the Black queer body and the present-day emotional impacts of enslavement in urban, rural, and international settings. HULL is lyrical, layered, history-ridden, experimental, textured, adorned, ecstatic, and emotionally investigative.

Praise
“Let’s deflate something that we can all agree is / monstrous, and take its air inside us,’” writes
Xandria Phillips in ‘Elegy for the Living and Breathing.’ A . decolonization of space and self is made physical in this stunning, textured, and ambitious collection of poems. This work positions
snapshots of contemporary black, queer selfhood against an embodied historical backdrop in order to trace the tolls and infringements of white dominant structures and embedded historical violence upon the body. When I read it, I am reminded of the ways in which language can be repurposed as an amplification device against narratives that seek to erase, bury, and diminish. The  poems in Reasons for Smoking
articulate how living, touching, noticing, speaking, and remembering are necessary and subversive acts.”
-CLAUDIA RANKINE
Show More +Show Less -
Details
ISBN: 9781643620084
Paperback, 80 pages, 6 x 9 in
Publication Date: 10/09/2019
Reviews

“In the tradition of Natasha Trethewey and Danez Smith, Phillips sees a through line from slavery to racism past and present. HULL is their bold indictment of prejudice.”

Show More +Show Less -

Xandria Phillips is a poet and visual artist from rural Ohio. They are the author of Reasons For Smoking, which won the 2016 Seattle Review chapbook contest judged by Claudia …

More about Xandria Phillips