Time is the International Winner of the 2020 Griffin Poetry Prize!

Congratulations to Etel Adnan & Sarah Riggs! Time is the International winner of the 2020 Griffin Poetry Prize, receiving $65,000 in prize money.

From the Judges’ Citation from the shortlist announcement: “‘I say that I’m not afraid/of dying because I haven’t/ yet had the experience/ of death’ writes Etel Adnan in the opening poem to Time. What is astonishing here is how she manages to give weariness its own relentless energy. We are pulled quickly through this collection – each poem, only a breath, a small measure of the time that Adnan is counting. Every breath is considered, measured, observant – perceiving even ‘a crack in the/ texture of the day.’ If Adnan is correct and ‘writing comes from a dialogue/ with time’ then this is a conversation the world should be leaning into, listening to a writer who has earned every right to be listened to.”

Time is available for purchase from us here!